Wedding Cake

No “piece of cake” the assembly of some of the unruly materials in this quilt.  I spent a whole day – well, in the shop time that is a series of interruptions, interrupted by sewing.  So it took nearly two days to get the back pieced together and a few, more detailed patches of the front.  (Remember, the center panel has been waiting for the basket weave and what I am calling the pillars.)

DSCN2136

I’ve tried hard to keep my client in mind as I balance all the elements symmetrically – a square in a square, bordered on four sides, wedged between matching lattice weaving and flanked by stately columns, made more intricate by the addition of Dad’s silk smoking jacket.

DSCN2156

I’ve featured pockets from the robes, always do in this sort of project.  I love the idea of holding hands with the past.

DSCN2154

I’m weaving the back fabrics as well, for interest.  It was a nice surprise when the edging on one robe made an extra weave just because it was there.   These are the unfinished strips getting pressed.

DSCN2266

 

There wasn’t enough of the necessary-sized pieces from the robes, so I added a piece of the dress into the weave.

DSCN2267

Finally on the quilting frame for quilting.  This is the wrong side of the back, waiting for the batting to be put on.  I used a combination of patterns, including leaves climbing the brickwork and columns and other organic shapes.

DSCN2284

I used a heavier cotton batting which created a beautiful relief because of the sheen of the satin.

DSCN2285

I moved around the quilt as I place quilting lines, so that it remained square.  Dense quilting can distort a piece if this isn’t done.

DSCN2286

The quilt lounges on the frame after a day’s work.  This keeps the wrinkles at bay.

caruso binding

Yards of binding were cut from another piece of the dress’  train.  There was so much fraying because of the weave of the cloth.  And, so much de-linting.

20140312_124103

 

The monogram of buttons and silk roses that were once hidden in the folds of the side bussles.

20140312_124204

The overall photo was better taken on the table because of the satin reflection.  I am finishing it off with an embroidered label that says I made it and the year.

 

Leave a Reply

